Creative Quick Thoughts Friday

This week has been weird.  Tom was gone, I was alone, the fifth largest snowstorm on record hit the Midwest, I’m considering a drastic hairstyle change, I got to have Girls Night, Tom’s having Boys Night even as I type, and poor little Fox ran out of wet food just before that blizzard hit.

I repeat:  it was a weird week.

For some reason or another, I let all this distract me from writing and posting on both Religious Talk Tuesday and Creative Thursday.  Errrrrgggghhhhh…  I have no real excuses, but I’m going to attempt to make up for the Creative Thursday missing and actually do my Quick Thoughts Friday right now, in the last 40 minutes of Friday in the Central time zone.

Here goes nothing.

Creative… Friday?

Tom and I don’t have many people over to our home.  We live about 30 miles from our closest friends and family.  On top of that, we’re pretty private people, especially Tom.  As a special sort of cherry, a lot of our family is older and the steep stairs leading to an apartment in a historic downtown above a restaurant aren’t particularly elder-friendly.

But in the past two days, Fox has gotten three visitors.  (And Tom came home.  It’s been pretty darn exciting around here, folks.)

After some compliments from my friend, after our Girls Night, I’d been playing around with the idea of posting photos of things I’ve done in our apartment as a Creative Thursday post.  Then Tom’s good friend came in and started snapping pictures like he was on the set of a Better Homes and Gardens magazine shoot.

Color me flattered.

gallery

The “gallery” in our long entry hallway.

The living area of our big room.  The table is pretty cluttered in the dining room, so you don't get to see that.

The living area of our big room. The table is pretty cluttered in the dining room, so you don’t get to see that.

We have a blanket over the chaise part of the couch because a certain someone likes to scratch on that most, plus I tend to sit here most often and am notorious for spilling.  I mad that “ottoman” a while back out of some styrofoam, extra fabric, and a good deal of packing tape.  The rug is an indoor/outdoor one that I got on sale at Home Depot, but we really like it because Fox likes to scratch on it, so it cuts down on the new couch scratching (a little).

This is our beverage station a.k.a what happens when your wedding favors are coffee mugs and you misplace a box of them until a month after said wedding.

This is our beverage station and Fox’s dining hall.

The mugs are what happens when you collect mugs to use as wedding favors and then misplace a box until a month after said wedding.  But we do drink many warm beverages, so the cool cart we found at an antique store (and I thought about for two days until begging Tom to let me get it) now has its draws full of (more) mugs, assorted coffees, teas, hot cocoa, and spiced apple cider mix.  It’s really fancy.

This is our pegboard pot rack.  I suggest you built one immediately.

This is our pegboard pot rack. I suggest you build one immediately.

Seriously.  Google how to do this and do it yourself or get someone who can.  It’s so nice to not have to wiggle around in a cabinet trying to find a lost pan.  Another plus is that I don’t have to dry things quite all the way before I hang them up.  It’s awesome and it looks cool.  Sha-bam!  Also, if you have hawk’s eyes and can see that there’s a garbage bag box on that awesome gray shelf in the dining room, I want to tell you that it’s what I have protecting my wedding bouquet.  Any ideas for some other storage option, because this one is pretty ghastly.

Makeshift fruit and veggie back splash.

Makeshift fruit and veggie back splash.

Having these one the wall makes cooking a breeze!

Having these one the wall makes cooking a breeze!

I felt like such a badass when I hung up all of the stuff above the sink and stove.  I had to mark it all out with a tape measure, but man, did it ever pay off!  I love not digging around in a drawer for the utensils I use most.  And I adore the pops of color from the fruits and veggies.  I got them all for $10 or something ridiculous.  Word to the wise: keep an eye out for when local shabby chic places are having blow out sales.  Such places utilize Facebook like pros these days.

There are four Fox/foxes in this photo.  Winter fox, Fox the cat, and two new Valentine's foxes!

There are four Fox/foxes in this photo. Winter fox, Fox the cat, and two new Valentine’s foxes!

Story of the shelves: Tom built the center bookshelf when he bought the TV on a whim.  It’s an awesome, sturdy, perfectly-suited-to-holding-the-TV shelf, but we realized that I had nowhere to put my books.  I scoured garage sale sites and Craigslist until I saw the beauties on the sides.  They’re just particle board laminate, but they’re wonderful for us because Fox has a tendency to want to scratch on beautiful books without dust jackets.  That’s not a problem when your books are behind glass panels!

Yes, we have a calendar of our cat.  So do both of our fathers and my grandfather!  It's hard to beat a buy one get one free offer at Walgreen's two days before Christmas!

Yes, we have a calendar of our cat. So do both of our fathers and my grandfather! It’s hard to beat a buy one get one free offer at Walgreen’s two days before Christmas!

Winter fox, flowers, and gorgeous bookends.  The bookends and fox may or may not be standing guard to keep Fox away from the alstromerias...

Winter fox, flowers, and gorgeous bookends. The bookends and fox may or may not be standing guard to keep Fox away from the alstromerias…

Cute little bathroom.

Cute little bathroom.  (and me)

I love that white shelf thing.  I found it at a barn sale last summer and fell in love.

I found the white shelf at a barn sale last summer and fell in love.

This is our bathroom storage area.  Fox is super excited about sharing a bathroom with us.

This is our bathroom storage area. Fox is super excited about sharing a bathroom with us.

Believe it or not, this bathroom is actually quite a bit bigger than our previous bathroom.  And it has a lot more storage space.  The problem is that it’s so open – and the dark cabinet can’t actually hold much because of how it’s attached to the wall.  I’ve discovered cute containers and done my best to use them everywhere I can!  For cool stuff like Tom’s shaving cream brush and pretty stuff like jars of moisturizer, open shelving is great!  We love the amount of light and I’m still so happy with our blue color scheme.

Disclaimer:  I’d love for you to get green with envy like I do when I read design blogs, but trust me when I say that I cropped out a lot of useless clutter in these photos.  Here, cardboard is a formidable foe and we still have a lot of storage solutions to figure out.  We also have some weird condensation stains on certain ceiling tiles.  And some are missing.  And… if you notice, you’re not yet prepared to see the bedrooms.

Quick Thoughts Friday:

  • I’ve been obsessing about the idea of getting a pixie cut, which is funny if you know my hair history.
  • No, seriously, I’ve been researching everything from what type would look good on me to how to grow one out gracefully.
  • You’re not understanding how this overtook my spare brain space.
  • Once Upon a Time is an insane show, but I’m always wondering what they’ll pull next.
  • I wish I had more friends close by.
  • The one good friend I have in the area is a treasure.
  • My best friend (in KY) called me this week and brightened my day.
  • The things that happen when you name your cat “Fox” are sort of ridiculous.  (Did I seriously just masking tap a place mat of two foxes in love onto my living room wall and seriously dig it?)
  • I’m really glad Tom’s home.
  • I need to buy some jumper cables to keep in my trunk – and make sure I know how to use them.
  • My knee is hurting this week.  Physical therapy is kicking my ass in a good way, but the cold snap has not helped my soreness one bit.
  • You don’t know snow until you’ve seen 20 inches fall in a couple days.
  • People need to stop assuming that they know something about anything when they assume that a pet of a different species than what they prefer isn’t as special to a person or family as the species they prefer.
  • I’m really excited about Star Wars Episode VII.
  • It’s already 21 minutes into Saturday.
  • Just because I fell behind this week doesn’t mean I can’t keep up my writing schedule; it just means I took a couple days off and that’s okay.
  • Phones are wonderful things.
  • I didn’t watch the Super Bowl.  Judge me.  See if I care.
  • Judging by the shifting of my sleep schedule this week, next week is going to be damn near impossible.
  • Regardless of our differences, remember that everyone has a reason for the actions they take.  Seeking to understand the motivations behind these actions is much more useful than disregarding them entirely.
  • Mini rant: stop saying that autism is caused by vaccines.  Quit denying autistic people’s awesome qualities and let them be who they are, proudly, without saying, “Hey, you got screwed up because I made sure that you – and the rest of the population – wouldn’t catch a deadly disease.”  Vaccinate.
  • My most viewed post this week was Whatever Wednesday: The truth about sex.

Alright, guys and girls, I need to rest my mind a bit.  There’s a cute cat lurking about who’d like to watch the last episode Netflix has of Once Upon a Time – or maybe some Murder, She Wrote while sitting on fuzzy blankets draped over my feet.

One thought on “Creative Quick Thoughts Friday

  1. I am aware of your hair history. I am… surprised.
    Jumper cables: ALWAYS a good thing to have.
    Episode VII: can’t wait. I’ll be looking into a flight right about that time…
    Re autism & vaccines: this is one of those issues that isn’t really an issue. There are more diagnoses for “autism” because the criteria are more established (and broader) than they were 20, 40, or 50 years ago. Just like astronomy… just because we SEE more stars now (due to improvements in technology,etc.) does not actually mean more stars EXIST.

    Liked by 1 person

Rebellious Thoughts

